Burnham Overy Staithe

Went to Burnham Overy Staithe yesterday evening in my fruitless search for a bass. It was a lovely evening, and high tide was about 8pm. The tide absolutely rips through the channel between the dunes and Scolt Head Island. With hindsight I think where I was fishing the current is so strong the fish don’t probably have time to hunt about for food. I know some people set nets on the beach here, and they do catch bass. Next time I’ll get here a bit earlier I think; it was a bit of a spur of the moment session and I only arrived about an hour and a half before high tide. I have to say I didn’t see any signs of fish, but I still had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. And on the walk back I heard a bittern booming in the reeds to the left of the path. I’ve never heard one before, and it took a few seconds for me to realise what it was. It sounded like someone blowing across the top of a bottle, but it had a deep resonance about it, and it made the trip out well worthwhile.
                                                                             
Leave a Reply

