Rods and lenses

Been experimenting with my new lens again. It’s a Nikon 35mm f1.8. It’s great to have a lens that can go down to f1.8. I love the short depth of field it gives you. Also took the one below the other day, but with the 18 – 55mm kit lens.

As for fishing I’m hoping to get out this weekend. I will, hopefully, be dead-baiting on the one rod, and also, weather permitting, fly-fishing for the pike again. I’d really like to catch another on the fly just to prove to myself that the one the other day wasn’t a fluke!

I’m already thinking about the new trout season which is fast approaching. I need a new rod for the Wensum, and am thinking about a Greys Streamflex 4 weight; funds permitting that is. It’s funny, but you can never have too many fishing rods in my book. Having said that, I can honestly say that I haven’t got loads of rods sitting about that never get used. There’s the Edward Barder which I admit doesn’t get as much use as it should, and to be honest I’m thinking of selling it at some point. Then there’s my Hardy Marksman which is definitely my most used coarse rod; I use it for barbel and chub when I can get to the Hampshire Avon, and carp and tench on my local stillwaters. I’ve got a twelve foot Daiwa Avon which I now use mainly for dead-baiting. When it comes to fly rods I’ve got a 4 weight cheap thing which was a waste of money, and almost uncastable; a 6 weight Sharpes of Aberdeen which I use at my local syndicate stockie lake, and a 9 weight e-bay salt-water rod which I’ve been using for pike. I think I’ll probably invest in something else for next season, but it’ll do for now. When it comes to the salt I’ve got two Penn estuary-type rods, and I think that’s pretty much it.

Leave a Reply

