Bees and rudd

DSC_4295

I have a fishing friend who I’ve known for several years now. He has 25 acres behind his house and has, over the last 15 years or so, turned it into a wonderful landscape of woodland and meadows, and dug his own lake which he’s stocked with tench, roach, bream, crucians and rudd. I’ve been threatening to go over and have a look for a while now and last Sunday finally made it.

He showed me round and then I fished his lake. Corn was getting mullered by the small stuff before it had a chance to get to the bottom so I put on a small piece of chorizo. It’s something I’ve been meaning to try as a bait for a while, but meat is banned on Downham Market club waters which is where I mainly fish (it’s OK to chuck in unlimited kilos of high protein boilies and the like though, but not put a little cube of meat on the hook). I figured as it’s fairly tough and chewy when uncooked it should be impervious to the pecking of little mouths. It was, and after a couple of minutes the float shot under and I brought my biggest ever rudd to the net. Maybe not quite two pounds, but beautiful nonetheless. I’ve never really looked in detail at a big rudd, or any rudd come to that, but they have a wonderful gilded yellow sheen to their gill plates, and vivid red fins. I’m going to pay more attention to them in future I think.

My other reason for having a tour of his little estate was because I’m going into beekeeping. My garden being wholly unsuitable my search for an apiary site began with my friend Ian who was, happily, very enthusiastic about the prospect of bees on his land. I have already ordered two hives (without bees), and was intending on doing a course over the Winter, and then putting the bees in situ next Spring. However I don’t think I can wait that long, and as a work colleague’s husband keeps bees, and has some for sale, Danny’s Bees may be in action sooner than I thought.

I’ll keep you updated, but I have a feeling a new blog may be in the pipeline. ‘Danny’s Bees’ has a certain ring to it don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

