Different strokes

Mmm… it’s been almost a year since I wrote anything on this blog. I’ve had a busy Summer, and unfortunately fishing, and the other good things in life, have been pushed aside by work. Last week I went to Hampshire for my occasional once-or-twice-yearly-barbel-fishing-fix. The barbel were sadly lacking, but on my first walk along the river Avon for two years I bumped in to another angler who recognised me from this very blog which was nice, and as a result I feel the need to begin writing again.

This entry may have begun on the banks of the Hampshire Avon at Burgate, but it is now winging its way across the Atlantic to that jewel of an island that straddles the gulf stream: Cuba. I’m not a big fan of flying but because we’re now so busy in Summer we decided to get away to warmer climes after Christmas, and after some discussions Michelle and I decided on Cuba. Cuba has sun, sand, beautiful clear caribbean waters, but also fantastic culture and history and, of course, Cuba has fishing.

I like to mix things up when it comes to fishing and this was certainly a fantastic new experience. There are some photographs below, but other than that I’m not going to go in to too much detail here because I’m hoping that my Cuban exploits will be published in the second edition of new fishing magazine Fallon’s Angler, which you can find details about here: Fallon’s Angler – Caught by the River and purchase here: Fallons Angler.

I’m not sure how much fishing there’s going to be over the next few months, but definitely some, and in February I’m returning to Cuba. This time I’ll have a fly rod in hand, and bonefish and permit on my mind, and that is very exciting.

DSC_0016

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESDSC_0104 DSC_0107 DSC_0010DSC_0147DSC_0154 DSC_0157 DSC_0159 DSC_0172 DSC_0208

Leave a Reply

